Story Time! (updated with disclaimer)

I’d like to share a little story with you that I wrote for my upper-intermediate class to use for a reading task.  Rather than trying to find some story or article to use, I decided to write one myself.

*** DISCLAIMER: This story is 100% fiction and NOT based on any real people or events.  My aim was to entertain my students so that they would be engaged in the task.  My aim was to  incorporate the “quantifier” vocabulary that was the focus of the lesson (and is bolded in the story for your benefit), like: few, a few, little,  a little, much, many, some, and many, many more.  The lesson also concentrated on countable and uncountable nouns, but I’m just grateful you’re reading my blog, so don’t worry, I won’t subject you to an explanation of those things.  I wanted to share this with you because my teacher trainer was laughing out loud as she read it and I thought it could give some of you a good laugh too.    Some of you may think this story is really about me, but I can assure you, that it in NO WAY reflects my new life, which I am truly very happy with.

Now that we have that cleared up, allow me to set the scene for you.  As part of my teacher-training course, we have “practice teaching” two times a week for 45 minutes (half of a class period) each time.  The men and women brave enough to subject themselves to student-teachers are rewarded with only having to pay 5 euros (about $7.50) for 8 classes.

I really love teaching this group of adults and there are only five of them.  There is one 40ish-year old guy who loves speaking in English and also loves to correct everyone else.  Then there are four women, one who is about 50 or 60-years old and seems to have no fear; she’ll talk and talk in English and contribute all day long.  There is one quiet woman who looks like a young 50-year old, tanned and has great style, she takes her time thinking about a question and then almost always has the correct answer.  There is a taller woman who wears glasses, is about 60 or 65 years old and she has a serious look on her face much of the time.  I have been extremely impressed with how well they understand what I’m saying, even when I speak close to my normal pace.  Unfortunately, “Serious Sally” doesn’t seem to understand my instructions too well.  I was excited today when she let me know that she didn’t understand, rather than turn to her friend who, as usual, would explain it to her in Spanish.  Then there is a 50 or 60-year old woman who is so sweet and petite and knows a great deal of English but waits to be called on, unlike the two other high-level students who prefer speaking whenever they have something to say.

The formatting of the story doesn’t look right because it was typed in a table.

So without further adieu, I give you . . .

Negative Nancy’s New Life

     Negative Nancy lived in Nebraska in the United States and had few friends, so her mother suggested that she move
away and meet new people.  When Negative Nancy moved to Barcelona all she thought about were the
many problems that she would have.
     Negative Nancy went to school to learn Spanish.  On the first day she arrived late
because she took a taxi and got stuck in a lot of traffic.  There were lots of students already in the
classroom and only a few desks were available, so Negative Nancy had to sit in the back corner.
   After the first couple of weeks, the students began to wonder if Negative Nancy would ever smile.  The last time that she had
smiled was when she was back home and it had been raining when she saw a taxi speed down her street and drive
right through a puddle, splashing a great deal of water all over a little old lady.
    One morning Negative Nancy checked her e-mail before going to class.  There was a message from her
family that said her cat had been run over by a taxi and died.  When Negative
Nancy arrived at school that day, her classmates asked her how she was doing and she said, “My cat got run
over by a taxi and died.”  There wasn’t much noise in the classroom after that since no one knew what to say. One student reached into her lunch bag and offered Negative Nancy a slice of chocolate cake.
Negative Nancy took the cake but felt guilty.  She told her classmate that she had been eating way too many sweets and just the other
 night the button popped off her pants while she was eating an octopus.
Negative Nancy then said that she became so frustrated that she cut her pants up into little pieces. Some
students laughed when she said that, but Negative Nancy didn’t think it was funny at all.
     It was the last day of the course when Negative Nancy decided to ask her classmates if they wanted to
hang out.  She didn’t understand why they said that they had little time for going out since they didn’t have any work left to do.  So negative Nancy went home to rest, but there was too much noise
outside her apartment. Dogs were barking, neighbors were yelling and cars were honking their horns.
Negative Nancy tried to relax on the couch but all she could think about was her miserable new life.
Posted on September 22, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

