What a wonderful day, plenty of sunshine heading my way

Such a beautiful Barcelona morning in the low 60s, the sun peeked out for a bit. Just sitting at a café in the plaza outside my first gig of the day that starts at 13:00 (1:00 pm). Sipping tea and savoring a light (not in calories), fluffy, sugar-coated, melt-in-your-mouth croissant.

And to top it all off, I was offerred a job at my interview this morning and when I uncomfortably said the pay would be lower than my current lowest salary – she offerred more!

It’s supposed to rain today and tomorrow and then the rest of the week all sunny and low 60s (sorry, Chicago). I’ll be busy this week posting my “ad” on websites offerring English lessons at a price that I get to determine and no middle-man to take a cut of it. Hopefully I’ll get a taker or two and if not, then I lower the asking price – win, win.

P.S.

Great news: I just got a call from a company who received my CV (resume to those of us from the U.S.) and wanted me to teach Monday and Wednesday nights.  Unfortunately I had to tell them that I already have a class then.  But she did say that she’d hold onto my CV if another class opens up.

Even better news: One of the companies that I currently work for requested splitting a group into two – 10 beginners is just too many to be as productive as possible.  Permission was granted from my boss’ boss in Madrid and now I have 3 more hours to teach each week (and 45 euros more per week – $60) and with students I already know and at a place that I already go to.

Posted on November 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Rachel,

    Sounds like everything is good with you. I enjoy all of your posts and I am sorry I have not responded before this!!!!
    I miss stopping in to say hello to you at school, however I know that you are in a far better and beautiful place.
    Not much to tell at my end – pretty much the same. The family is good and we are all looking forward to the upcoming holidays.
    Are you coming to the states any time soon?
    Have a great day and know that I think of you often –
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

